Special Education

Department Co-Chairs:  Gina Anderson & Adam Hoverter
Department Members:
Gina Anderson - SLP
Rafael Banaag - School Psychologist                                                                                                                                Samantha Briggs - RSP
Steven Buchter - RSP
Cathryn Edelman - SDC M/M
Matt Harnett - SDC Mod
Adam Hoverter - SDC M/M                                                                                                                                                    Shanthi Kathiresan - RSP                                                                                                                                                    Darci Keiper - SDC M/S
Vivian Nguyen - SDC II                                                                                                                                                              Shanthi Raja - RSP                                                                                                                                                                Christopher Sanchez - SDC M/M
Jabari Snowden - RSP                                                                                                                                                        Jennifer Tutass - SDC M/M                                                                                                                                                          Swetha Yethipathi - SLP


Here at Walters we have always served a diverse student  body with a wide range of special needs.  Students are eligible for Special Education based on thirteen different categories and are served in one of these programs available at Walters:

CE   Counseling Enriched

RSP   Resource Specialist Program

SDC M/M   Special Day Class Mild/Moderate needs

SDC Mod   Special Day Class Moderate needs

SDC Mod/Sev   Special Day Class Moderate/Severe needs

SDC II   Special Day Class Intensive Instruction

Speech-Language Services