In 2016, Warm Springs was honored as a California Gold Ribbon School.

The California Department of Education (CDE) seeks to recognize outstanding educational programs and practices. The California Gold Ribbon Schools Award was created to honor schools while the California Distinguished Schools Program is on hiatus as California transitions to new assessment and accountability systems. Last year, we recognized 193 middle schools and 180 high schools as Gold Ribbon School Award recipients. We will honor elementary schools in 2016.

Traditionally, the Distinguished Schools Program honored public schools that showed improved student outcomes as measured through Standardized Testing and Reporting scores and additional measures. As programs and policies evolve, the CDE looks toward the same recognition of educational quality with the implementation of academic content and performance standards adopted by the State Board of Education for all pupils, including English learners.

California elementary schools that have made tremendous gains in implementing State Board policies and their Local Control Accountability Plan are invited to apply for the Gold Ribbon Schools Award. Model programs and practices should include standards-based activities, projects, strategies, and practices that schools have adopted during this transitional period, which can be replicated by other local educational agencies.

Gold Ribbon

Left to right: Alameda County Superintendent of Schools Karen Monroe,
Warm Springs Teacher Kris Imhof, Warm Springs Principal Scott Iwata,
State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson, Warm Springs
Assistant Principal Kimberley Pedrotti, Warm Springs Teacher Tory Leung,
Fremont Unified School District previous Superintendent Dr. Morris