State Assessments

California Department of Education. Displaying a glowing lamp of learning.

The Assessment & Accountability Department coordinates testing mandated by the state of California to measure student achievement.  Among these tests are the following:

  • California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP)
    • Smarter Balanced Summative Assessment (SBAC)
      State mandated test for grades 3-8 and 11

      • English Language Arts
      • Mathematics
    • California Alternative Assessment (CAA)
      For eligible students

      • English Language Arts
      • Mathematics
      • Science
    • California Science Test (CAST)
      State mandated test for grades 5, 8, and once in high school
    • California Spanish Assessment (CSA)
      State test for Spanish Dual Immersion grades 6-7
  • Physical Fitness Test (PFT)
    State mandated test for grades 5, 7, and 9
  • California Mathematics Placement Exam
    State mandated test for grade 9